COVID-19 Supreme Committee

COVID-19 Supreme Committee Decision of 22 February 2021

Arabic Download

Note: The following text is a public domain translation published by the Official OmanVsCovid19 Twitter account.

Statement of the Supreme Committee

The Supreme Committee has come to know the global impact of the epidemiological situation on health systems in countries of the world, particularly with the spread of the mutated strains linked to travel-associated exportation, and the risk of spreading these strains in the Sultanate, which impact the capacity of local healthcare system, as indicated by the local reports of the polymerase tests done to arrivals in the Sultanate.

Hence, in an effort to protect the community, and to maintain the efforts countering the pandemic, the committee has decided to suspend entry of the arrivals to the Sultanate coming from the following countries: The Republic of Sudan, the Lebanese Republic, the Republic of South Africa, the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Federal Republic of Nigeria, the United Republic of Tanzania, the Republic of Ghana, the Republic of Guinea, the Republic of Sierra Leone, the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, and those coming from other countries but have passed through one of the aforementioned ten countries in the last 14 days preceding their request to enter the Sultanate, effective 12:00 am of Thursday, February 25th, 2021 for fifteen days period.

This excludes Omani citizens, diplomats, healthcare workers and their families, who will be subject to the approved procedures upon arriving in the Sultanate. The Supreme Committee urges citizens and residents to avoid travel in the coming period unless absolutely necessary.

May Allah Almighty Protect All From Harmful Diseases