COVID-19 Supreme Committee

COVID-19 Supreme Committee Decision of 2 June 2021

Arabic Download

Note: The following text is a public domain translation published by the Official OmanVsCovid19 Twitter account.

Statement of the Supreme Committee

Following the recent updates and analysis on the developments of COVID-19 in the Sultanate, the Supreme Committee decided the following:

First: to allow reopening of mosques with a capacity not less than 100 worshippers for the five prayers only, not the Jumulah (Friday) prayer, according to the controls announced by the Ministry of Endowments and Religious Affairs, in coordination with the Ministry of Health.

Second: to terminate implementing the decision which bans the conduct of businesses across the Sultanate from 8pm to 4am, and to continue working with the decision to reduce entry of visitors to complexes, shops, restaurants and cafés to no more than 50% of capacity, while allowing admission of children under 12 years of age.

Third: to allow reopening of exhibitions, wedding halls and other commercial activities which require people to gather together, provided not to exceed 30% of their capacity, and not to exceed 300 people in whatever case for halls with large capacities, while adhering to all preventive measures and requirements.

Fourth: to allow Omanis and residents of the (GCC) countries living in Oman & working in the neighboring countries to cross land borders to their work, while holding a proof of employment from their employers.

Fifth: to allow people to visit beaches and public parks, with an emphasis on preventing all kind of gatherings, and adhering to preventive measures and requirements.

Sixth: to allow outdoor group sports, while adhering to all preventive measures and requirements.

Seventh: to allow reopening of gyms at (50%) of their capacity, while adhering to all preventive measures and requirements.

Eighth: to allow hotel guests and holders of affiliated club membership to go to swimming pools, gyms an their facilities in hotel facilities while adhering to all preventive measures and requirements.

The Committee also decided to extend suspension of entry of travellers coming from; the Republic of Sudan, the Federal Republic of Brazil, the Federal Republic of Nigeria, the Federal Republic of Tanzania, the Republic of Sierra Leone, the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, the United Kingdom, the Republic of India, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, the Republic of Bangladesh, the Arab Republic of Egypt and the Republic of the Philippines. In addition to travellers coming from the Kingdom of Thailand, the Federal Kingdom of Malaysia and the Socialist Republic of Vietnam, and those who have been in or transited through any of the aforementioned countries in the previous 14 days prior to their request to enter the Sultanate, effective Saturday, June 5th 2021 at 2pm and until further notice. The Committee hereby urges citizens not to visit the countries during this period.

The Supreme Committee stresses that the above-mentioned decisions aim primarily to mitigate the impact of this pandemic on the private sector and to stimulate its growth in a way that does not conflict with the commitment to the controls protecting the local community from the disease. The Committee therefore calls on owners of these businesses to enforce the commitment to the approved precautionary controls, and follow-up compliance with these controls as the competent authorities will tighten control over violators. The committee confirms that it is on continuous review of its decisions which are based on the epidemiological situation, and takes appropriate decisions suitably, including closing businesses and preventing movement if the situation so requires.