COVID-19 Supreme Committee

COVID-19 Supreme Committee Decision of 27 November 2021

Arabic Download

Note: The following text is a public domain translation published by the Official OmanVsCovid19 Twitter account.

Statement of the Supreme Committee

Within its continuous sessions held to address the developments caused by Covid-19 in the Sultanate, the Supreme Committee has reviewed the reports on the epidemiological situation of the pandemic locally and globally, and looked into the updates on the increasing number of infections and mortalities, and the outbreak of the new strain in some African countries. Therefore, attempting to protect the local community from the pandemic and to maintain the health gains achieved to date, above all the significant reduction of infections and inpatients, the Supreme Committee decided to suspend entry of travellers from; South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini and Mozambique, and travellers who have been in or transited through any of these countries in the previous 14 days prior to their application to enter the Sultanate, effective 8 AM Sunday, November 28, 2021, until further notice. This excludes Omani citizens, diplomats, health personnel and their families, and citizens of the above-mentioned countries who have valid residence in the Sultanate, provided to undergo a PCR test upon arrival and an institutional quarantine for seven days, and to re-take the test on the sixth day (including Omani citizens).

The Supreme Committee hereby urges all to avoid travel during the coming period unless absolutely necessary.

May the Almighty Allah Protect All From Any Harm